Elevator chit-chat

August 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Today I rode down in the elevator of my building with a delivery guy who’d been bringing lunch to my neighbor. Looking into my stroller he asked, “Is that your baby?”
“Yes.”
“How old?”
“Five months.”
“I have . . .”
“You have a baby?”
“Yes.”
“How old?”
“Five”
“Years?”
“Yes.”
“Wow! Boy or girl?”
“Boy.” He had his head in his blackberry. A pause. And then he showed me: a photo of him holding his little boy on his knee, both smiling.
“He looks like you,” I said.
“Yes.” He beamed.

Six floors. Human connection. Hard to ask for more than that from an elevator ride.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Elevator chit-chat at Ee!!!.

meta

